Home / Today in Milwaukee / Breaking Through to Joy

Breaking Through to Joy

Tonight @ the Marcus Center - 8 p.m.

Jan. 3, 2009
Google plus Linkedin Pinterest
As part of a program billed as “Breaking Through to Joy,” the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, with four vocal soloists, will perform Beethoven's Ninth, one of the composers most beloved compositions, followed by the Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra in B-Flat Major, K. 191 by W.A. Mozart (1756-91). This is a work Mozart composed when he was 18 years old for an instrument that had only recently been developed. The soloist for this work will be Theodore Soluri. Conducting tonight’s 8 p.m. performance at the Marcus Center is Lawrence Renes, who rose to fame in 1995 when he replaced Riccardo Chailly with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam.


The new owners of the Shops of Grand Avenue have revealed a radical redesign for the mall, which will include a proposed grocery store, an urban marketplace and contemporary office spaces, as well as the potential for a new name. Will the new owners succeed where past owners have failed in turning Grand Avenue around?

Getting poll results. Please wait...