Here's The Complete List of 2014 WAMI Nominees

Mar. 13, 2014
Google plus Linkedin Pinterest
The Wisconsin Area Music Industry announced the nominees for its 2014 WAMI Awards this week, and as usual Milwaukee artists are well represented. The complete list of nominees is included below; the winners will be announced at a Sunday, April 27 award show at the Fox Cities PAC in Appleton that will feature the induction of three honorees to the WAMI Hall of Fame: big band leader Woody Herman, jazz singer Janet Planet and saxophonist Warren Wiegratz.

Artist of the Year
Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
Hugh Bob and the Hustle
Volcano Choir

Album of the Year
Blessed Feathers, Order of the Arrow
Doozey, Almost Magic
Fatty Acids, Bolero
I’m Not a Pilot, The Story So Far
Mojo Radio, Rise
Vic and Gab, Love of Mine
Volcano Choir, Repave
Whiskeybelles, Nothin’ Says Christmas Like Whiskey

Song of the Year
Boogie, Klassik
Bye Gone, Volcano Choir
Easy Eyes, Fever Marlene
Elevation, Anthony Lamarr
If I Was the Last Man, Buffalo Gospel
Let You Down, Vic and Gab
Mess with Me, Hugh Bob and the Hustle

Female Vocalist of the Year
Rhonda Begos, Streetlife
Esh, Red & Reckless featuring Esh
Lyndsay Evans, Sexy Ester
Miranda Freimuth, Daphni
Leah Kowalewski, Crooked Keys
Monica Martin, PHOX
Nicole Rae, The Traveling Suitcase
Heidi Spencer, Buffalo Gospel

Male Vocalist of the Year
Marc Ballini, Marc Ballini
Cory Chisel, Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons
Rich Hoffman, Almighty Vinyl
Joe Neary, Joe Neary Band
Ryan Necci, Buffalo Gospel
Pat Schor, Shaker and the Egg
Matt Tyner, Matt Tyner, The Carpetbaggers
Mike Wendland, Rooftop Jumpers

New Artist of the Year
Green Screen Kid
The Incorruptibles
Joe Neary Band
Jacobi and the Pillow Snatchers
Twin Brother

Singer Songwriter of the Year

Rob Anthony
Nora Collins
Roxi Copland
Myles Coyne
Beth Kille
Anna Vogelzang

Rising Star of the Year

Bad Habitz
The Batterman Ensemble
Stephanie Erin Brill
Thief & Rascal
Travis Drow
Hannah Mrozak

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist of the Year

The Delta Routine
The Family Business
The Fatty Acids
Ivy Spokes
The Lately
Midnight Reruns

Bluegrass/Americana Artist of the Year
Buffalo Gospel
Burnt Toast & Jam
Chicken Wire Empire
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
Hugh Bob and the Hustle
The Mad Polecats

Blues Artist of the Year

Alex Wilson Band
Altered Five
The Jimmys
Howard Luedtke & Blue Max
Katz Sass
Rev Raven & the Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys
Serious Trouble

Christian/Gospel Artist of the Year
Cory Cifax
Masonic Wonders
Saved by Grace
Tae Spears

Country Artist of the Year
Back Home Boys
Bella Cain
Chasin’ Mason
Diamond & Steel
Doghouse Flowers
Grand Union
Rebel Grace
Saving Savannah

Cover Artist of the Year
Cherry Pie
Half Empty
Metal Men
Rabid Aardvarks
Road Trip
The Toys

Folk/Celtic Artist of the Year

Blessed Feathers
Lil’ Rev
Macyn Taylor
Myles Coyne and The Rusty Nickel Band
Robert J
Whiskey of the Damned

Hard Rock/Metal Artist of the Year

Beyond Fate
Dead Modern Villains
Red Light Saints
Venus in Furs

Jazz Artist of the Year
Chanel le Meaux & the Dapper Cads
Jamie Breiwick
Jazz Orgy
Kevin Hayden Trio
Nineteen Thirteen
Roxi Copland

Polka Artist of the Year

Brewhaus Polka Kings
Gary’s Ridgeland Dutchmen
Goodtime Dutchmen
The Happy Schnapps Combo
Rhythm Playboys
The Squeezettes
Steve Meisner

Pop Rock Artist of the Year
Boy Blue
I’m Not A Pilot
Sexy Ester
The Traveling Suitcase
Vic and Gab

Hip Hop/ Rap Artist of the Year
Legacy Musik
Rob Dz
Yo Dot

R&B/Soul Artist of the Year
Charles Walker Band
Tweed Funk
The People Brothers Band
Keep’n It Clean (KIC)

World/ Reggae/Ska/Latin Artist of the Year
The Aluar Pearls
The Carlos Adames Group
De La Buena
Max & the Invaders
R.A.S. Movement
The Tritonics
Unity the Band

Club DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist of the Year
D.j. Manny
donny and the robot

Horn/Big Band of the Year
All-Star SUPERband
Big Mouth & the Power Tool Horns
Bill Sargent Band
Cold Sweat and the Brew City Horns
Extra Crispy Brass Band
The Magnificents
Uptown Savages
Vic Ferrari Symphony

Tribute Band of the Year

5 Card Studs
The Prince Experience
Project Pink
Reckless Life
Separate Ways

Bass Player of the Year

Timm Buechler
Jeff Hammes
Eric Hervey
Eric Madunic
Andy Mertens
Conway Powell
Erik Sikich
John Wartenweiler

Drummer of the Year

Alan Arber
Dave Braun
Brian Dale
Andrew Klaus
Mauro Magellan
John Medler
Ryan Schiedermayer

Guitarist of the Year
Dean Arndt
Dan Johnston
Brian Kirchner
Jason Klagstad
John Minard
Joe Perz
Perry Weber
Tony Warpinski

Keyboard Player of the Year
Jeff Arnold
Alex Drossart
Sam McClain
Danny Moore
Jeff Stoll
Thomas Wincek
Aaron Zinsmeister

Reeds/Brass Player of the Year

Travis Drow
Aaron Gardner
Seth Jorgensen
Kevin Klemme
Mary Rodgers
Andy Spadafora
John Vollmar

Strings Player of the Year
Tommy Greywolf
Matt Muelling
Ryan Ogburn
Janet Schiff
Phil Smith
Peter Thomas
Kimmy Unger

Best Studio Engineer/Producer
Tony Anders, Studio H.
Authi Music
Marc Golde, Rock Garden Studio
Steve Hamilton, Makin’ Sausage Music
Vinnie Millevolte, Millevolte Studio
Mike Zirkel, Audio for the Arts

Best Recording Studio
Cherry Pit Studios
The Exchange Recording Complex
Makin’ Sausage Music
Renwood Messenger
Rock Garden Studio
Studio H.


Would white supremacists, neo-Nazis and the Ku Klux Klan pose the same threat they do now if a mainstream Republican were president instead of Donald Trump?

Getting poll results. Please wait...