Shepherd Express - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/articles.sec-410-1-short-order.html Mon, 22 May 17 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 The Good Fortune of Finding Real Chinese http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29638-the-good-fortune-of-finding-real-chinese.html ]]> Beer in Every Dish at Milwaukee Beer Bistro http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29596-beer-in-every-dish-at-milwaukee-beer-bistro.html ]]> Jow Nai's Thai on Weekends Only http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29557-jow-nais-thai-on-weekends-only.html ]]> Beer and a Serious Sandwich Selection at Valley Inn http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29513-beer-and-a-serious-sandwich-selection-at-valley-inn.html ]]> Laotian Fare at Vientiane Noodle Shop http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29472-laotian-fare-at-vientiane-noodle-shop.html ]]> What's Cooking at Thai Kitchen http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29460-whats-cooking-at-thai-kitchen.html ]]> P.F. Chang's Inventive Chinese Menu http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29414-pf-changs-inventive-chinese-menu.html ]]> Burgers Raise a Ruckus in Shorewood http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29366-burgers-raise-a-ruckus-in-shorewood.html ]]> Authentic Pho on Layton Avenue http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29320-authentic-pho-on-layton-avenue.html ]]> Chinese and a Play at China Gourmet http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29273-chinese-and-a-play-at-china-gourmet.html ]]> Great Pizza at Santino’s Little Italy http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29230-great-pizza-at-santino%25E2%2580%2599s-little-italy.html   ]]> Entertainment, Local Brews and Classic Irish Fare at Mo's Irish Pub http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29199-entertainment-local-brews-and-classic-irish-fare-at-mos-irish-pub.html   ]]> Craving a Korean Burger? http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29158-craving-a-korean-burger.html   ]]> Spicy Sausage (and Sweet Canoli) at Scardina http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29159-spicy-sausage-%2528and-sweet-canoli%2529-at-scardina.html   ]]> Monterrey an Oasis of Urban Cool http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29120-monterrey-an-oasis-of-urban-cool.html Soul food connotes hominess and comfort. But it can be presented with a more formally elegant approach. Such is the case with Monterrey (551 W. Becher St.). Chef-owner Dion Jefferson, known for his]]> Homemade Goodness at Tosa Bowl and Bun http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29071-homemade-goodness-at-tosa-bowl-and-bun.html   ]]> Vietnamese Favorites at Phan's Garden http://shepherdexpress.com/article-29025-vietnamese-favorites-at-phans-garden.html Phan’s Garden (1923 W. National Ave.) is one of the city’s older Vietnamese restaurants, located on Milwaukee’s near South Side—pretty much ground zero for our burgeoning Asian populace. The m]]> Getting Veggie at The Hotch Spot http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28961-getting-veggie-at-the-hotch-spot.html ]]> Frozen Custard, Cheese Curds and Big Burgers at Gilles http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28941-frozen-custard-cheese-curds-and-big-burgers-at-gilles.html   ]]> Dino’s Serves Italian Tradition in Riverwest http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28907-dino%25E2%2580%2599s-serves-italian-tradition-in-riverwest.html   ]]> Breakfast at Café at the Plaza http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28880-breakfast-at-cafe-at-the-plaza.html   ]]> Home-Style Cooking on Canal Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28819-home-style-cooking-on-canal-street.html   ]]> Leff’s Lucky Town Serves Up Healthy Burgers http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28793-leff%25E2%2580%2599s-lucky-town-serves-up-healthy-burgers.html   ]]> Fish to Go on Center Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28687-fish-to-go-on-center-street.html   ]]> At Home in South Milwaukee Pub http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28654-at-home-in-south-milwaukee-pub.html   ]]> Belt-Busting Menu at Jack Rabbit Slims http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28614-belt-busting-menu-at-jack-rabbit-slims.html ]]> Pizza Shuttle is For More than Just Late Nights http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28581-pizza-shuttle-is-for-more-than-just-late-nights.html   ]]> Taste of Jerusalem http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28541-taste-of-jerusalem.html ]]> Jazzy Downtown Cafe http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28510-jazzy-downtown-cafe.html    ]]> Lunchtime at India Garden http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28472-lunchtime-at-india-garden.html    ]]> Dining and Drinking at Elm Grove’s Wall Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28424-dining-and-drinking-at-elm-grove%25E2%2580%2599s-wall-street.html Franklin’s Irish Sports Bar http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28243-franklin%25E2%2580%2599s-irish-sports-bar.html   ]]> Chicago Hot Dogs in Brookfield http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28244-chicago-hot-dogs-in-brookfield.html   ]]> Harry’s Bar and Grill Comes to Brady Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28220-harry%25E2%2580%2599s-bar-and-grill-comes-to-brady-street.html   ]]> Tony’s Buffet Under Glass http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28182-tony%25E2%2580%2599s-buffet-under-glass.html ]]> Greek Kisses at Ouzo Cafe http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28154-greek-kisses-at-ouzo-cafe.html   ]]> Crisp Crust and Tasty Toppings at Wy’east Pizza http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28099-crisp-crust-and-tasty-toppings-at-wy%25E2%2580%2599east-pizza.html    ]]> Good Meals at Restaurante Juquilita http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28079-good-meals-at-restaurante-juquilita.html   ]]> Italy in the Third Ward http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28026-italy-in-the-third-ward.html   ]]> Soul Food in Waukesha http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28027-soul-food-in-waukesha.html Although located in a nondescript strip mall, Pat’s Rib Place (151 E. Sunset Drive, Waukesha) serves some of the area’s best barbecue. The rib tips retain the meat’s tender cent]]> A Feast for the Senses at Durbar http://shepherdexpress.com/article-28001-a-feast-for-the-senses-at-durbar.html   ]]> Apollo Café: Fast, Good and Greek http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27958-apollo-cafe-fast-good-and-greek.html   ]]> Zoup! Serves Soup, Salad and Sandwich Specialties http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27922-zoup_-serves-soup-salad-and-sandwich-specialties.html    ]]> bd’s Mongolian Grill Caters to Taste http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27852-bd%25E2%2580%2599s-mongolian-grill-caters-to-taste.html    ]]> O’Lydia’s Hearty Bar Fare with Irish Flair http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27813-o%25E2%2580%2599lydia%25E2%2580%2599s-hearty-bar-fare-with-irish-flair.html ]]> Metal Monster Burger at The Metal Grill http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27736-metal-monster-burger-at-the-metal-grill.html   ]]> Historic Café at the Plaza http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27703-historic-cafe-at-the-plaza.html   ]]> Bamboo Serves Laotian and Thai Dishes http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27641-bamboo-serves-laotian-and-thai-dishes.html   ]]> Jamerican Center Serves Reggae with Jerk Chicken http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27607-jamerican-center-serves-reggae-with-jerk-chicken.html   ]]> DeMarinis: Bay View’s Pizza Destination http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27512-demarinis-bay-view%25E2%2580%2599s-pizza-destination.html   ]]> Good Cookin’ at Soul Good Kitchen http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27482-good-cookin%25E2%2580%2599-at-soul-good-kitchen.html   ]]> Local Bistro Says Beer Goes with Everything http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27388-local-bistro-says-beer-goes-with-everything.html When non-Milwaukeeans think about what kind of food we prefer, they likely imagine something similar to the menu at Milwaukee Beer Bistro (2730 N. Humboldt Blvd.), in which nearly every item on the]]> Quality Food, Casual Vibe at Cudahy Burger Joint http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27355-quality-food-casual-vibe-at-cudahy-burger-joint.html   ]]> Hearty Soul Food at The Little Cook http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27256-hearty-soul-food-at-the-little-cook.html   ]]> La Caribeña’s Soulfully Hearty Latin-American Menu http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27218-la-caribena%25E2%2580%2599s-soulfully-hearty-latin-american-menu.html   ]]> Shawarma House is an East Side Hub http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27197-shawarma-house-is-an-east-side-hub.html   ]]> Casablanca Continues to Expand on its Mediterranean Lunch Buffet http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27141-casablanca-continues-to-expand-on-its-mediterranean-lunch-buffet.html   ]]> Xankia Brings Vietnamese Flavor Downtown http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27104-xankia-brings-vietnamese-flavor-downtown.html Xankia (222 W. Wells St.) serves delectable Vietnamese sandwiches to please most pallets. Offered are tofu, chicken and beef sandwiches/meals ($5-$11), soups and noodle]]> West Side’s Gyros King http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27051-west-side%25E2%2580%2599s-gyros-king.html For several years the former Lucky’s Custard location at 100th Street and Capitol Drive stood vacant. Road construction on Capitol in recent years played a big role in delays to find a new business to take over the ]]> Puerto Rican Pulled Pork - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-27022-puerto-rican-pulled-pork-short-order.html    ]]> All-Vegetarian Beerline Café Brightens Commerce Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26949-all-vegetarian-beerline-cafe-brightens-commerce-street.html   
]]>
Cousins Subs Says On Wisconsin! http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26950-cousins-subs-says-on-wisconsin_.html “Better bread” has long been the tagline of Cousins Subs, the Milwaukee-based submarine sandwich shops. Now they can add “better cheese” to their menu. According to Cousins spokesperson Chelsea Schwabe, the chain “is tapping into its local ]]> Where to Find Those Mexican Popsicles http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26775-where-to-find-those-mexican-popsicles.html    ]]> Big Burgers, Bigger Bloodies - Sobelman’s comes to Mequon http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26607-big-burgers-bigger-bloodies-sobelman%25E2%2580%2599s-comes-to-men.html The recently opened Sobelman’s Pub and Grill in Mequon (10352 N. Port Washington Road) offers 15 unique, mouthwatering Black Angus burgers (try The Hangover) and eight wildly garnished, delicious bloody marys featuring Jimmy]]> Lone Star-Style Barbecue - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26570-lone-star-style-barbecue-short-order.html Though the chain originates in Dallas, the preparation and presentation at Dickey’s Barbecue Pit (five Southeastern Wisconsin locations) derives from barbecue styles native to the central and eastern regions of the Lone Star State. Pickle ]]> Chinese Buffet in Mequon http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26481-chinese-buffet-in-men.html Tucked in Mequon’s River Centre shopping court is a great little restaurant called Chinese Buffet and Hibachi Grill, 6107 W. Mequon Road. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is warm and the décor features traditional Chinese woodcarvings]]> Lots O’ Breakfast at McBob’s http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26147-lots-o%25E2%2580%2599-breakfast-at-mcbob%25E2%2580%2599s.html During our visit, a retired food and beverage manager of Milwaukee’s Pfister Hotel and Chicago’s Ritz-Carlton sitting next to us shared he was a first-time patron and volunteered a review of the breakfast at ]]> Nino’s Italian Bakery & Deli http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26074-nino%25E2%2580%2599s-italian-bakery-deli.html A longtime resident of Milwaukee’s East Side, Nino’s Italian Bakery & Deli relocated to Downtown Menomonee Falls in 2000, settling in a charming building at the intersection of Main Street and Appleton Avenue (N88 W16683 Main St.). There, the family ]]> Soulful Menu at Pass Da Peas http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26033-soulful-menu-at-pass-da-peas.html One might expect an eatery named for a hit by James Brown’s band and adorned with replicas of R&B 45s to excel at soul food. Pass Da Peas (7870 W. Appleton Ave.) lives up to expectations. Steak and chicken smothered in gravy, meat ]]> Ashley’s Bar-B-Que Comes to Walker’s Point http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26007-ashley%25E2%2580%2599s-bar-b-que-comes-to-walker%25E2%2580%2599s-point.html Ashley’s on 15th and Center has been a haven for takeout grilled meats in tangy sauces since the late 1960s. Three years ago, the son of its founder teamed up with two partners to prepare some of dad’s recipes plus some new offerings with]]> Aggie’s in West Allis http://shepherdexpress.com/article-26008-aggie%25E2%2580%2599s-in-west-allis.html The sweet scent of wedding cake is in the air inside Aggie’s Bakery & Cake Shop (7328 W. Greenfield Ave.), but the new venue in the heart of West Allis isn’t just a place for brides-to-be. The new Aggie’s, replacing the long-running location on ]]> Why Dat? - The Importance of Being a Saints Fan in http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25894-why-dat-the-importance-of-being-a-saints-fan-in.html Soul Food Comes to Shorewood - Short Orders http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25859-soul-food-comes-to-shorewood-short-orders.html At Nino’s Southern Sides (4475 N. Oakland Ave.) in Shorewood, soul food translates well to one of the city’s toniest suburbs under experienced restaurateur Valerie Daniels-Carter’s guiding hand. Some of the African American cuisine’s more ]]> Greek (and More) at Thiensville’s Prime Minister http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25860-greek-%2528and-more%2529-at-thiensville%25E2%2580%2599s-prime-minister.html There’s nothing like the kind of Greek-owned, family friendly restaurants spread throughout the Midwest. Prime Minister Restaurant (517 N. Main St., Thiensville) distinguishes itself both for the expected Greek specialties and its international ]]> Italian Kitchen near UW-Milwaukee http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25813-italian-kitchen-near-uw-milwaukee.html Located down the street from UW-Milwaukee’s Mitchell Hall, Sala (2611 E. Hampshire St.) has long been a popular college lunch spot and an unpretentious place for grabbing an Italian dinner on the way home. Sala has also become known beyond]]> Coffee and More on East Wisconsin - 600 East Café in the heart of Downtown http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25763-coffee-and-more-on-east-wisconsin-600-east-cafe-in-the-heart-of-downtown.html A large space occupying the corner of Jackson and Wisconsin, near the Federal Building, the Pfister and U.S. Bank, 600 East Café (600 E. Wisconsin Ave.) is an attractively rehabbed space. It has wooden floors; exposed brick outer walls; an]]> Look for Kabana Grill http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25339-look-for-kabana-grill.html Gone is the unattractive buffet that formerly occupied this inconspicuous storefront in a South Side strip mall. Kabana Grill (869 W. Layton Ave.) has delightful ambiance and a large Indian-Pakistani menu. The accent is on Pakistani, given the beef dishes on the menu and the use of Halal meats ]]> Breakfast at Alderaan http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25340-breakfast-at-alderaan.html Occupying the corner of one of the new high rises along the stretch connecting Downtown to the East Side, Alderaan Coffee (1560 N. Water St.) is a place of hard-edged surfaces—concrete block walls, terrazzo floors and a cement and wood counter. You can start the day there with a hearty bowl ]]> Franklin’s Indian Buffet http://shepherdexpress.com/article-25258-franklin%25E2%2580%2599s-indian-buffet.html ]]> New Bay View Café http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24811-new-bay-view-cafe.html
]]>
Home-Style Cooking at Indian Bazaar http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24752-home-style-cooking-at-indian-bazaar.html
]]>
Elk at the Great Lakes Grill http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24714-elk-at-the-great-lakes-grill.html Where else within a reasonable drive from Milwaukee could one eat with a view of taxidermy but Great Lakes Grill at Cabela’s (1 Cabela Way, Richfield)? The semi-cafeteria-styled eatery in the local branch of this chain outdoor sporting goods store may be the kind of culinary convenience ]]> Kilwins at Bayshore Town Center - Chocolate, fudge and ice cream for everyone http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24677-kilwins-at-bayshore-town-center-chocolate-fudge-and-ice-cream-for-everyone.html
]]>
Fish Fry at Fritz’s Pub - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24653-fish-fry-at-fritz%25E2%2580%2599s-pub-short-order.html In business since 1978, Fritz’s Pub (3086 S. 20th St.) has been a fixture among South Side Milwaukee bars with a reputation for its Serbian burger. Come Fridays, Fritz’s serves one of the city’s best fish frys. The cod is lightly battered and fried to a delicate crisp. The rye bread is thick, homemade]]> Toppings are Generous at Riverwest Pizza - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24619-toppings-are-generous-at-riverwest-pizza-short-order.html
]]>
Lalli’s Pizza (and More) - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24559-lalli%25E2%2580%2599s-pizza-%2528and-more%2529-short-order.html
]]>
Jamaican Jerk at Irie Palace http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24511-jamaican-jerk-at-irie-palace.html You’ll get cabbage and plantains for a side dish with your entrée at Irie Palace, and you’ll like it. OK, that’s not a demand. But steamy strips of cabbage flecked with carrot and fried slices of the banana’s starchier relative are staples at Irie Palace (7506 W. Appleton Ave.), Milwaukee’s]]> Steak, Cheese and Lemonade - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24478-steak-cheese-and-lemonade-short-order.html
]]>
Look for Café India - Short Order http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24440-look-for-cafe-india-short-order.html
]]>
Hearty Crepes, Creamy Crepes http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24391-hearty-crepes-creamy-crepes.html
]]>
Po’ Gurl’s Soulful Soul Food http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24354-po%25E2%2580%2599-gurl%25E2%2580%2599s-soulful-soul-food.html There’s a limited menu any given day at Po’ Gurl Cafe (back of Warren’s Lounge, 2534 W. Hopkins St.). ]]> Sweet Stuff at Tosa’s La Tarte http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24312-sweet-stuff-at-tosa%25E2%2580%2599s-la-tarte.html Located in Wauwatosa’s Hyde Park neighborhood, La Tarte bakery and coffeehouse (6742 W. Wells St.) has a loyal customer following with its eclectic selection of baked goods, homemade soups and freshly prepared coffee drinks. The quaint storefront, which features two small tables and ]]> Chicken Wings Over Brady Street http://shepherdexpress.com/article-24255-chicken-wings-over-brady-street.html Those who have imbibed too much love to gobble up chicken wings in all their fried, spicy glory. ]]> Twisted Willow Offers Healthy, Casual Yet Classy Dining - From farm to table to Port Washington http://shepherdexpress.com/article-22630-twisted-willow-offers-healthy-casual-yet-classy-dining-from-farm-to-table-to-port-washington.html ]]>